15 weeks

This week was mostly characterised by backache, early nights, my husband rocking even more 16 hour days and me getting ready for our holidays.

It was also the week that I got a bit brave and told my boss I was pregnant. To cut a very long, dull story short, we’re in the process of a big restructure at work, and am currently working out a fixed term contract which is due to end just before the baby is scheduled to make an appearance. Applying for your own job doesn’t sound like much fun, but it sounds even less fun when you’re 8 months pregnant at the time.

I was incredibly nervous about telling her, which is probably why I put it off for weeks beforehand. I’m a loud person, I’m confident and I’m not at all shy, but for some reason, this had me crippled. I physically had to work myself up to saying the words to her, and promptly burst in to tears straight afterwards. Not that there was any need to, as soon as I told her, she shrieked with joy and burst in to tears too. She’d assumed I was so nervous because I was handing my notice in, so she was jointly happy for us we were having a little one, and pleased that I wasn’t leaving!

After the cat was out of the bag, I was surprised to find out that my husband wanted to share the news with friends on facebook. We’d previously decided not to post anything on facebook, and I think this was largely down to not wanting to be another couple who post wedding photos, only to post scan photos a few months later. Still, seeing as I’d become so inherently shy about spilling the beans, we thought it might be the quickest and easiest way of letting folks know our news, which lead to lots of lovely messages from people we’d not told face to face yet.

I’ve got mixed views about facebook and the way people use it. I think, used right, it’s a great tool to keep in touch with your nearest and dearest, so don’t understand why it gets so much flack. On the other hand, it’s difficult to navigate politics around ove-rsharing, un-friending, not accepting requests and sharing different content with different people. I’ve not come up with a coherent argument yet, but when I do, it’ll be the subject of another blog post.

Next week: HOLIDAYS!

2 thoughts on “15 weeks

  1. Congratulations!! I know exactly what you mean about Facebook! Who wants random people putting up rude statements about your life! I’ve recently found out that they do the same thing with my blog. But I am refusing to filter its content because it’s just a diary of my feelings and that’s why I keep it- to vent and connect w other moms! Anywho- you should come see me at http://www.birminghambell.com and we can keep up with each other’s bump bc I am 12 weeks with our second! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weeks 14 – 17 | From here to maternity

Leave a Reply

